Program Faculty

Amanda Beech
Dean
abeech@calarts.edu
661-253-7804
E123Y

Amanda Beech is an artist and writer. Her work proposes a new realist politics of the artwork and its possibilities in the context of contingency and neo-rationalist conceptions of power. Recent solo shows include: Covenant Transport, Move or Die, Baltic Museum, UK, 2016; All... Continue reading »

Michael Bryant
Associate Dean
Faculty
mbryant@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2241
E125

Mike Bryant is a biologist and a statistician.  His research has appeared in several scientific journals: Science, Nature, American Naturalist, Ecology, PLoS, Animal Behaviour and Environmental Biology OF Fishes.  Mike’s research interests in biology include functional... Continue reading »

Gabrielle Civil
Faculty
gcivil@calarts.edu

Gabrielle Civil is a black feminist performance artist and writer, originally from Detroit, MI. She has premiered fifty original performance artworks around the world. Since May 2014, she has been performing Say My Name (an action for 270 abducted Nigerian girls) as an act of embodied... Continue reading »

Andrew Culp
Faculty
aculp@calarts.edu
661-253-7803 ext.2025
E115

Andrew Culp (PhD Ohio State, 2013) teaches Media History and Theory in the MA Program in Aesthetics and Politics and the School of Critical Studies at CalArts. His published work on media, film, politics, and philosophy has appeared in Radical Philosophy, parallax, angelaki, and boundary 2... Continue reading »

Arne De Boever
Program Director
adeboever@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2411
E130

Arne De Boever (PhD Columbia, 2009) teaches American Studies in the School of Critical Studies and the MA Aesthetics and Politics program at the California Institute of the Arts (USA). He directed the MA program from 2011-2019 and returned to that role in 2020.  De Boever’s... Continue reading »

Brian Evenson
Faculty
bevenson@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2249
E132

BRIAN EVENSON is the author of more than a dozen books of fiction, most recently the story collection A Collapse of Horses (Coffee House Press, 2015) and the critical book Ed Vs. Yummy Fur: Or What Happens When a Serial Comic Becomes a Graphic Novel (Uncivilized, 2014).  His... Continue reading »

Andrea Fontenot
Director, The Writing Center
Faculty
afontenot@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2028
E123A

* Faculty Emeritus
Part-time Faculty
12