Program Faculty

Tisa Bryant
Faculty
tbryant@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2412
E129

Teaching interests: fiction and non-fiction, mythologies, revision and adaptation, cross-cultural/cross-genre/hybrid writing, archives/research/source texts, style and mechanics of narrative Tisa Bryant (MFA, Brown 2004) makes work that often traverses the boundaries of genre, culture and... Continue reading »

Gabrielle Civil
Faculty
gcivil@calarts.edu

Gabrielle Civil is a black feminist performance artist and writer, originally from Detroit, MI. She has premiered fifty original performance artworks around the world. Since May 2014, she has been performing Say My Name (an action for 270 abducted Nigerian girls) as an act of embodied... Continue reading »

Brian Evenson
Faculty
bevenson@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2249
E132

BRIAN EVENSON is the author of more than a dozen books of fiction, most recently the story collection A Collapse of Horses (Coffee House Press, 2015) and the critical book Ed Vs. Yummy Fur: Or What Happens When a Serial Comic Becomes a Graphic Novel (Uncivilized, 2014).  His... Continue reading »

Janet Sarbanes
Faculty
sarbanes@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2249
E132

Teaching Areas: Narrative Theory; Cultural Studies; Fiction; Critical Theory; Arts Writing   Janet Sarbanes is the author of the short story collections Army of One and The Protester Has Been Released, which was declared a best fiction book of 2017... Continue reading »

Matias Viegener
Faculty
viegener@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2426
E124

Teaching Interests: Critical Theory; Fiction & Non-fiction, Gender Studies; Literature; Social Art Practice Matias Viegener is a writer, artist and critic who works solo and collaboratively in the fields of writing, visual art, and social practice.  He is the author... Continue reading »

Jon Wagner
Faculty
jwagner@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2512
E123B

Teaching Interests: Film, Video, TV Theory; Critical Writing; Poetics Jon Wagner (PhD, School of Cinematic Arts, USC) is a scholar, translator, and poet who helped establish the MFA Writing Program at CalArts in 1994 and served as its Associate Director or Director until 2005. He continues... Continue reading »

* Faculty Emeritus
Part-time Faculty