Program Faculty

Jess Arndt
Faculty
jarndt@calarts.edu

Jess Arndt received her MFA at the Milton Avery Graduate School of the Arts at Bard College and was a 2013 Graywolf SLS Fellow and 2010 Fiction Fellow at the New York Foundation of the Arts. Her writing has appeared in Fence, Bomb, Aufgabe, Parkett, and Night Papers, and in her... Continue reading »

Tisa Bryant
Faculty
tbryant@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2412
E129

Teaching interests: fiction and non-fiction, mythologies, revision and adaptation, cross-cultural/cross-genre/hybrid writing, archives/research/source texts, style and mechanics of narrative Tisa Bryant (MFA, Brown 2004) makes work that often traverses the boundaries of genre, culture and... Continue reading »

Victoria Chang
Faculty
vchang@calarts.edu

VICTORIA CHANG's fourth book of poems, Barbie Chang was published by Copper Canyon Press in 2017. The Boss (McSweeney’s) won a PEN Center USA Literary Award and a California Book Award. Her other books are Salvinia Molesta and Circle.  She also... Continue reading »

Gabrielle Civil
Faculty
gcivil@calarts.edu

Gabrielle Civil is a black feminist performance artist and writer, originally from Detroit, MI. She has premiered fifty original performance artworks around the world. Since May 2014, she has been performing Say My Name (an action for 270 abducted Nigerian girls) as an act of embodied... Continue reading »

Brian Evenson
Faculty
bevenson@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2249
E132

BRIAN EVENSON is the author of more than a dozen books of fiction, most recently the story collection A Collapse of Horses (Coffee House Press, 2015) and the critical book Ed Vs. Yummy Fur: Or What Happens When a Serial Comic Becomes a Graphic Novel (Uncivilized, 2014).  His... Continue reading »

Janet Sarbanes
Faculty
sarbanes@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2249
E132

Teaching Areas: Narrative Theory; Cultural Studies; Fiction; Critical Theory; Arts Writing Janet Sarbanes is the author of the short story collections Army of One and The Protester Has Been Released. Recent short fiction appears in Black Clock, P-Queue,... Continue reading »

Matias Viegener
Faculty
viegener@calarts.edu
661-255-1050 x2426
E124

Teaching Interests: Critical Theory; Fiction & Non-fiction, Gender Studies; Literature; Social Art Practice Matias Viegener is a writer, artist and critic who works solo and collaboratively in the fields of writing, visual art, and social practice.  He is the author... Continue reading »

* Faculty Emeritus
Part-time Faculty
12